Save the current filter and column layout

After you create a filter that suits a particular task, you can save the filter, then load it later when you undertake a similar task. The column layout and sort order are also saved. To change the column layout, see Choose which columns are displayed in a table.

To enable you to share or back up the setup of the Views pane or the Activities pane, you can save that setup to a file on your computer. You can send that file to colleagues, or load it again if you find that the layout is no longer present in the application.

About this task: The setup of the Views pane is independent of the setup of the Activities pane. To save the current setup of both panes, you must save the setup of Views pane, then separately save the setup of the Activities pane.

Note: Within the rest of this section, the filter, table sort order, and column layout are collectively termed a layout.

Save layouts

To save the current layout of the Views pane or the Activities pane, follow these steps:

  1. Within the pane whose layout you want to save, right-click on the header row of the table.
  2. Click Save Layout.
  3. In the Save as box, enter a name for the layout, then click OK.
  4. To save the layout to a file on your computer, select a location for the file within the Save Layout to disk window, enter a file name in the File name box, then click Save. Else, if you do not want to create a file, click Cancel; your layout will be saved within the application and will be available from the Restore Layout menu, but it will not be saved as a file.

Note: You can create a file that contains all the layouts that you have previously saved, as described above, in either the Views pane or the Activities pane. Layouts for either pane are present in the file. However, any unsaved layout changes are not saved; to ensure the saved file includes the current layouts, follow the Save Layout instructions above. This collective layout file is useful for backup purposes.

To collectively save the layout of the Views pane and the Activities pane, follow these steps:

  1. Within either of those panes, right-click on the header row of the table.
  2. Click Save Layouts to disk.
  3. In the Save Layouts to disk window, select a location for the file, then enter a file name in the File name box.
  4. Click Save. The layouts file is created.
  5. To add the saved layouts to the Restore Layout menu (so that you can reapply them when you need to), see Load layouts below.

Load layouts

To load layouts that are saved to a file and add them to the Restore Layout menu of the appropriate pane, follow these steps. If a loaded layout is already present in the Restore Layout menu, the application will ask you if you want the layout definition within the file to overwrite the layout that is available from the Restore Layout menu.

  1. Within either the Views pane or Activities pane, right-click on the header row of the table, then click Load Layouts from disk.
  2. In the Open saved layouts file window, locate and then select the file.
  3. Click Open. Each layout in the file is added to the Restore Layout menu of the appropriate pane.

Apply layout

To apply a layout to the Views pane or Activities pane, follow these steps:

  1. In the pane that you want to modify, right-click on the header row of the table.
  2. In the Restore Layout menu, click a layout.

Delete layout

About this task: This task removes a layout from the Restore Layout menu. If the layout was loaded from a file, it does not delete that file.

To delete a saved layout, follow these steps:

  1. In the Views pane or Activities pane, right-click on the header row of the table.
  2. In the Delete Layout menu, click a layout.


Scientia Ref: 4047. For Enterprise Timetabler 3.14. Copyright © Scientia Ltd. 2018