You are here: Use Enterprise Course Planner > Load, save and customise > Receive changes made by other users

Receive changes made by other users

When other users send their changes to the SDB, you can use the Refresh function to apply those changes to the image in memory on your workstation. The changes become visible in Enterprise Course Planner. You can manually run the Refresh function, or automatically run it at specific intervals.

About this task: Some of the received changes might be to items that you have changed in the image. If you have not sent your changes to the SDB, the Conflicts detected in SDB Refresh at transaction window appears.

To avoid data conflicts, regularly refresh the image and use the Writeback function. To help you to remember to refresh the image, set up the refresh reminder.

To manually run the the Refresh function, follow this step:

  • On the main toolbar, click Refresh .

To automatically run the Refresh function at specific intervals, follow these steps:

  1. In the Tools menu, click Options.
  2. In the Options window, select the Auto SDB Refresh check box.
  3. To set the interval between automatic refreshes, enter or select a value in the SDB refresh interval box. The time unit is minutes.

    Note: This value also controls the refresh reminder.

  4. Enter or select a value in the SDB refresh countdown box. When the automatic refresh process begins, you can choose to postpone the refresh; this setting controls how many seconds Enterprise Course Planner waits for your input. If you do not respond, the refresh commences.
  5. Click OK.
  6. After the refresh interval has elapsed, Enterprise Course Planner displays the "Your data has not been refreshed from the SDB" message. Perform one of the following actions:
    • To immediately begin the refresh, click OK.
    • To postpone the refresh, click Postpone; the next refresh will occur after the specified interval has elapsed again.
    • If you do not click a button, the refresh commences after the number of seconds that you specified in Step 4.

Result: Changes made by other users are received from the SDB. In the status bar at the bottom of the Enterprise Course Planner window, the Last SDB refresh value is updated to the current time.

Related tasks

Save your changes